BOISE – Effective July 1, 2014, two Idaho laws involving the use of guns go into effect. Both bills were backed by the National Rifle Association (NRA) and were passed in the Idaho Legislature and signed into law by Governor Butch Otter (R) during the 2014 legislative session.

Senate Bill 1254 will permit qualified retired law enforcement officers and law-abiding adults who have obtained an Idaho enhanced license to carry a concealed weapon to possess a concealed firearm on public college or university campuses.

Two exceptions to the law prohibit the possession of a firearm in a student dormitory or residence hall as well as prohibiting the possession of a firearm at any entertainment or sports facility that has the capacity to seat 1,000 people.

The NRA recommends the review the firearms policy of your public college or university even if you believe the policy is contrary to state law.  It recommends that it be contacted if you believe that one or more the locations on your college or university campus has been improperly designated as a prohibited place, please send an e-mail describing that location and your concern to State&Local@nrahq.org.

House Bill 399, which also takes effect today, will lower the minimum age to hunt big game from twelve years old to ten years old, while retaining the requirement that an individual younger than twelve must be accompanied in the field by an adult licensed to hunt in Idaho.

It is a crime to display a firearm in a rude, angry and threatening manner. Pursuant to Idaho Code Ann. §18-3303, “Every person who, not in necessary self-defense, in the presence of two (2) or more persons, draws or exhibits any deadly weapon in a rude, angry and threatening manner, or who, in any manner, unlawfully uses the same, in any fight or quarrel, is guilty of a misdemeanor. It is a crime to carry a concealed weapon while under the influence of  drugs or alcohol.

The Idaho enhanced concealed carry permit requires both classroom as well as shooting range training. The focus of both training sessions is the safe and legal use of a gun. Law enforcement personnel say one of the biggest problems they deal with concerning concealed handguns is the individuals failure to keep the firearm concealed on his person.

The Idaho enhanced conceal carry permit is accepted by more surrounding states than the Idaho Basic permit.

Classes are scheduled based on interest from the public and generally cost $75. The 8 hour class culminates at the gun range where each student is expected to demonstrate competency with a firearm. This includes safely handling a gun as well as basic shooting. Marksmanship isn’t the focus but instructors will expect to see students understand guns.

Area instructors include Ty Cahoon:219-0547, Mike Phillips: 431-9795 and Tony Bernad 312-4291

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
PLEASE TURN OFF YOUR CAPS LOCK.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.